South Downs Way: Wed 24 Aug; Hurstpierpoint to Eastbourne

The third and final day of the SDW or as Roger who I cycled this over 30 years ago said “ if these are the South Downs I’d hate to be on the South Ups”.

The final stats:

Sun almost all day! Average was actually less at 6.1mph. That it is mainly up or down and not much flat appears in the profile.

Hills walked up: too many to count.

Punctures: none I’m pleased to say. The flints did worry me.

I also did not fall off! It was slow and hot, with great views missing so far.

I passed a total of 112 signposts and went through 134 gates. Here is my favourite signpost(s):

Yes, it’s to the pub. Only one though but millions of the SDW ones.

So what powered me up the downs?

Best fruit salad.

And…

Best presentation of full English. Overall winner of the SDW breakfast award 2022.

I set off via Hassocks to see my gran’s bungalow and the stream we played in as kids. Then the first climb; Ditchling Beacon. I’m glad to say I cycled up it, with a lot of huffing, puffing and some swearing.

On the downs and the sun came out and stayed out. Great views and more typical down land open scenery.

A lot faster on the tracks especially as many were in grass which oddly was still green and not burnt as elsewhere :

The lack of flints made up and down far more pleasant.

Then an odd concrete track through fields:

And the sea in the distance!

The last two hills were tough; steep and poor surfaces . I saw far more walkers and cyclists, almost half of the latter on electric MTBs. Must admit I did envy them!

Then the River Ouse rushing down to Newhaven:

Yes, a flat bit. Which means climbing up again…

Then, after a slog up a chalk track the end in sight:

Eastbourne, in its full err…
glory

I found a good track down to the town and just caught the London train.

A great ride, harder it seems than 30 years ago !

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.