The Dales; Day 6, Mon 27 June; Grassington to Settle

Only half a day – I got little sleep and had a bad cold, so much so breathing was difficult so I bailed out at Settle.

Those stats; 15.5 miles at about 10pm. 2,635ft of climbing in the last 5 miles or so.

And breakfast at the Black Horse Hotel:

OK, but small portions of everything . The winner of this tour’s breakfast is the Fairfax Arms

A grey start in soft drizzle:

Me and Pat looking for blue sky. None found.

The route was relatively (hah – in the sense that nowhere in the Dales is horizontal) flat. Onward through more drizzle turning to rain and back to drizzle. Then the climbing started .

A slog. John not looking enthusiastic.

John patiently accompanied my slow progress to the top. By then I knew I couldn’t sensibly do the same climb and mileage again, so settled for Settle.

A very steep descent and to a large cycle shop/café in the centre of town. I was relieved to get a taxi easily to Kendal. The driver told me that a lot of his jobs were ferrying tired/injured/ill walkers and cyclists around!

I was disappointed not to have finished but it was the right decision. A good meal that evening and off to Scotland the next morning.

I missed seeing this viaduct, and the weather improving.

As before when cycling in the UK the sheer beauty of our country never ceases to impress – as here:

A great tour; scenery, food and company brilliant.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.